help_outline Skip to main content
Shopping Cart
cancel
Date: 5/4/2021
Subject: ACTION ALERT - Support New Gun Safety Legislation
From: League of Women Voters of Colorado



Action Alert

ACTION ALERT! SUPPORT NEW GUN SAFETY LEGISLATION!

LWVCO supports measures that are intended to protect the health and safety of citizens through limiting the accessibility and regulating the ownership of handguns and semi-automatic weapons, and we support regulation of firearms for consumer safety.


HB21-1298 Expand Firearm Transfer Background Check Requirements

Sponsors: Reps. Amabile & Woodrow and Sens. Gonzales & Pettersen

 

This bill addresses four issues on Background Checks:

  • Violent Misdemeanor Prohibitions – a person who has had a conviction for certain violent misdemeanors will not be able to purchase a firearm for 5 years after the conviction.   People who have demonstrated a tendency to violence are 5 times more prone to be arrested for further violent crimes than those without violent convictions.  
  • Closing the Charleston Loophole – a transfer of a firearm cannot be completed until the background check is approved. This removes the current 3-day limit for CBI (Colorado Bureau of Investigation) to do the background check.  
  • Extending the appeal period – The period for CBI to resolve an appeal to a background check denial is extended from the current 30 days to 60 days.  
  • Final dispositions – Under current law, the inability of CBI to obtain the final disposition of a felony case could not constitute a reason for denial.  This provision is removed.  

HB 1298 will be heard on Wednesday, May 5th at 1:30 p.m. by House Judiciary Committee.  Contact members of the Committee to urge them to SUPPORT this bill.

 

House Judiciary Committee Members:

Rep. Mike Weissman - mike.weissman.house@state.co.us

Rep. Kerry Tipper - kerry.tipper.house@state.co.us

Rep. Adrienne Benavidez - adrienne.benavidez.house@state.co.us

Rep. Lindsey Daugherty - lindsey.daugherty.house@state.co.us

Rep. Dylan Roberts - dylan.roberts.house@state.co.us

Rep. Rod Bockenfeld - rod.bockenfeld.house@state.co.us

Rep. Stephanie Luck - Stephanie.Luck.house@state.co.us

Rep. Jennifer Bacon - jennifer.bacon.house@state.co.us

Rep. Terri Carver - terri.carver.house@state.co.us

Rep. Mike Lynch - Mike.Lynch.house@state.co.us


HB21-1299 Office of Gun Violence Prevention
Sponsors: Reps. Sullivan & Bacon and Sens. Fields & Hansen

 

This bill establishes the Office of Gun Violence Prevention with the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment to coordinate and promote effective activities to reduce gun violence.  It will conduct public awareness campaigns on state and federal laws, especially the Extreme Risk Protection Orders law as well as other protection orders.  If funds are available, it will award grants for community-based gun violence initiatives aimed at interrupting the cycle of violence.  


HB 1299 will be heard Friday, May 7th after adjournment by the House Public and Behavioral Health and Human Services Committee.  Contact members of the Committee to urge them to vote YES on this bill.

 

House Behavioral and Public Health & Human Services Committee Members:

Rep. Dafna Michaelson Jenet - dafna.michaelson.jenet.house@state.co.us

Rep. Emily Sirota - emily.sirota.house@state.co.us

Rep. Lisa Cutter - lisa.cutter.house@state.co.us

Rep. Iman Jodeh - Iman.Jodeh.house@state.co.us

Rep. Rod Pelton - rod.pelton.house@state.co.us

Rep. Mary Young - mary.young.house@state.co.us

Rep. Serena Gonzales-Gutierrez - serena.gonzales-gutierrez.house@state.co.us

Rep. Colin Larson - colin.larson.house@state.co.us

Rep. Naquetta Ricks - Naquetta.Ricks.house@state.co.us

Rep. Mary Bradfield - mary.bradfield.house@state.co.us

Rep. Richard Holtorf - richard.holtorf.house@state.co.us

Rep. David Ortiz - David.Ortiz.house@state.co.us

Rep. Dan Woog - Dan.Woog.house@state.co.us

 
HOME   |   CONTACT US   |   MEMBER LOGIN   |   DONATE

Registered 501(c)(3). EIN: 84-1135313